Current Issue
This Month's Print Issue

Follow Fast Company

We’ll come to you.

1 minute read

Point Spread

LEED certification for new construction is based on specific actions in six categories. Each action earns a point. Here's a sampling.

Reclaim a brownfield site; build near public transportation

Water Use
Landscape with native plants; capture rainwater runoff

Install solar panels; buy energy from a renewable source

Materials and Resources
Build a recycling room; recycle 50% of construction waste

Indoor Environmental Quality
Ban smoking; use low-emission, low-toxicity paints

Exceed LEED standard for energy efficiency; have a LEED-accredited professional on project team

26-32 Points: Certified
33-38 Points: Silver
39-51 Points: Gold
52-69 Points: Platinum

A version of this article appeared in the October 2007 issue of Fast Company magazine.